Skip to main content

MLA Citation Style, 8th Edition: Home

A University of Lethbridge Library guide to MLA style citations.

MLA Handbook

Please note that this is the new edition of the MLA Style Guide. You can access the 7th edition here.

The MLA Handbook is a writing guide published by the Modern Language Association of America. It includes tips and recommendations on all steps of the writing process, from choosing a topic to finding and evaluating sources to outlining, writing, and citing. It also provides guidelines on spelling, grammar, and paper formatting. The Handbook is widely used in the humanities, particularly in English.

This guide focuses on the citation guidelines presented in the Handbook, providing examples of citations for a wide variety of sources. This guide follows the 8th edition of the Handbook, published in 2016. The new MLA style was updated in order to create one universal set of guidelines that writers can apply to any source. See General Guidelines for a more in-depth explanation of the changes.

You can navigate to the citation examples through the "Guide Contents" list on the left (on the right side of every other page), through the tabs across the top of the guide, or through these links:

Be sure to check out the general guidelines page as well for general rules on writing parenthetical references and works cited entries. The plagiarism page offers information to help you understand what plagiarism is and how to avoid it.

Should you have a citation problem that this guide doesn't answer, it is best to consult the actual Handbook for more information (see link below). Also, don't forget that you can ask any citation or research-related question to one of our helpful librarians (see the library help section on the right).

 

Other Helpful Resources

Library Help


Information and Research Assistance Desk (IRAD)

During IRAD open hours, you can Ask Us a question via IM, email, or text message.

Instant Message: Click Here
Email: Click Here
Phone: 403.329.2263
Ph. (toll free): 877.382.7113
Text: 780.666.4622

Get help In Person by visiting the IRAD, Located on Level 10 in the Library.

Library Hours


Facebook Foursqaure Twitter


University of Lethbridge Library
4401 University Drive West
Lethbridge, AB
Canada
T1K 3M4

Guide copyright information: