Skip to main content

Government Information: Red and Black Series -- Department of Indian and Northern Affairs

Library resources related to Government Information -- with an emphasis on Canadian government documents.

Library and Archives Canada Inventories & Descriptions: Red and Black Series

Library and Archives Canada Archives Organization: Red and Black Series

The Red Series and Black Series records are separately included as one of the sub-series within RG10 (Record Group 10) at Library and Archives Canada.

RG10 itself is part of R216, the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development fonds. [Full R216 Fond Description]

Red and Black Series Archival Content [Library and Archives Canada]

The archival records of the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs' Red Series (East of the Manitoba-Ontario border) and Black Series (west of the border) are part of Library and Archives Canada Record Group 10 (RG10 / R216). They contain invaluable primary sources mainly from the time period 1872 to 1923. Included are files, correspondence, letters, and transcripts on all aspects of Indian administration for both headquarters and the field offices. 

Records have been MICROFILMED (440+ reels in Red Series / 100+ reels in Black Series) and most -- but not all (e.g., several Code 32 reels are restricted) -- are publicly available. Numerous reels have also been DIGITIZED and contents can be SEARCHED and accessed for free online using the search tools listed below.

Example Image at left from Black Series: BLOOD AGENCY - APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OF PAPER WOMAN (WIFE OF CROWFOOT) FROM BLACKFOOT RESERVE TO BLOOD RESERVE. 1892.

SEARCH DIGITIZED Red and Black Series Records Within RG10 Using Archives Search Tool [Recommended]:

SEARCH DIGITIZED Red and Black Series Records Using ArchiviaNet On-Line Research Tool:

MICROFILM -- Finding Red and Black Series Content Online and at the U of Lethbridge Library

The U of Lethbridge Library has BOTH the RG10 Red Series (eastern Canada;  400+ reels) and the RG10 Black Series (western Canada; 100+ reels) available on microfilm.

A handful of individual DIGITIZED microfilm reels from both series are included in the  Héritage database -- see MICROFILM [DIGITIZED] section below.

MICROFILM [DIGITIZED] -- Red and Black Series Content Online from Héritage Canadiana database

A handful of individual DIGITIZED microfilm reels (e.g., non-restricted Code 90 reels) from both the Red Series and Black Series are included in the Héritage Canadiana database -- see links below. More will be added over time.

About the Red and Black Series

The Red and Black Series contain information pertaining to all aspects of human history, culture and language, exploration and land settlement, and resource development. They also provide documentation of the vast changes that took place in the Canadian federal government between 1872 and 1923.
 


Chief Michel Batise and his wife, Matachewan, 1906. [Source]

Example Searches Using Archives Search Tool for RG10 Materials

Related Aborginal Heritage Links