Skip to main content

2) Find Background Information: Reference Materials

A University of Lethbridge Library guide to finding dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials.

Sample Resources - General Reference

Sample Resources - Subject Specific Reference

Reference Materials

When should I use reference materials in my research?

Reference materials, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and almanacs are a great place to start your library research. They can provide a good overview of your research topic, help you focus your research, and direct you to other relevant books and journals.

What's the difference between general and subject specific reference materials?

General reference materials, such as the Encyclopedia Britannica, are written for a popular audience. They aim to provide an overview of general knowledge in one or more areas.

Subject specific resources provide more in-depth coverage of a particular topic or academic discipline.

Where is the library's reference collection located?

The library's reference collection is located on Level 10, behind the Information and Research Assistance Desk. Additionally, many of the library's reference holdings are also available electronically. 

Searching for reference materials

On the library's home page, click on the 'reference' tab in the middle of the page. Here you can do a basic or advanced search already narrowed down to those items which are categorized as reference material. This will include both print and electronic holdings. There is also a link to 'additional e-reference materials' which links to electronic reference materials both licensed (available to members of the UofL community only) and free (via the Internet). You can search by 'subject' or by 'type'.

You can also do a basic search in Summon for your topic, and narrow by 'Content Type' to 'Book / e-Book' and then further narrow by 'Library Location' to 'Reference Materials' to find those items physically located in our Reference Collection on level 10.

Catalogue Search Tips

How do I find dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books in the library catalogue?

To find general reference works, try searching the U of L library catalogue for any of the following subject headings:

  • Encyclopedias and dictionaries
  • Thesauri
  • Electronic encyclopedias
  • Electronic dictionaries

Library Help


Information and Research Assistance Desk (IRAD)

During IRAD open hours, you can Ask Us a question via IM, email, or text message.

Instant Message: Click Here
Email: Click Here
Phone: 403.329.2263
Ph. (toll free): 877.382.7113
Text: 780.666.4622

Get help In Person by visiting the IRAD, Located on Level 10 in the Library.

Library Hours


Facebook Foursqaure Twitter


University of Lethbridge Library
4401 University Drive West
Lethbridge, AB
Canada
T1K 3M4

Guide copyright information: