Skip to main content

LibQUAL+®: Charting Library Service Quality at the UofL: 2005 Report Card

Assessing library service quality using LibQual+(TM) at the University of Lethbridge

Questions?

If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to bring them to our attention:

  • Check out the Frequently Asked Questions

  • Email: The Library Assessment Team.

  • Or contact Leona Jacobs, LibQUAL+® Lead Project Librarian, (403) 329-2008.

For more information about the LibQual+®service visit the ARL LibQUAL+® Project Website

2005 LibQUAL+® Report Card

From the 2005 LibQUAL+® results, twelve recommendations were made.  We listened to your feedback and have made several changes in the library since the 2005 survey but it remains a work in progress.

Check out our Report Card below to see the changes made as well as those in progress.          

                  1) Recommendation: Communication & Campus Engagement             
That the Library seek every opportunity to engage the University community and communicate with it for the purposes of sharing information, presenting a Library perspective on University issues, educating the Community about Library policies, roles and services, making the Community aware of issues and challenges faced, etc.
What we've done:
  • Introduction of campus-wide announcements of new electronic resources.
  • Introduction of a monthly feature column in The Legend highlighting various Library resources, etc.
  • Collaboration with other departments/groups (e.g., CAETL) in creating new general displays.
  • Special events to build rapport with students and faculty (e.g., Fines Amnesty Week).
  • Increased promotion of the services and activities of the Library (e.g., Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library, etc.)
  • Increased promotion of the accomplishments of Library staff (e.g., CLA Award for Innovative Technology)
  • Library Code of Conduct Policy (ratified by GFC Library Committee and GFC, Spring 2007)
What we're working on:
  •  Investigation into the creation of a Library Council (inclusive of external-to-the-Library representation). -- ON HOLD

 

                  2) Recommendation: Library Collections & Strategic Directions             
That the Library engage the University Community, faculty in particular, in a discussion with respect to the strategic directions that the Library faces with respect to collections.
What we've done:
  • Outreach pilot - two subject liaison librarians have started holding office hours with the departmental units they work with.
What we're working on:
  •  Identification of strategic (collection) directions of importance, in general, to faculty. -- IN PROGRESS
  •  As reported above, investigation into the creation of a Library Council (inclusive of external-to-the-Library representation). -- ON HOLD

 

                  3) Recommendation: Evaluation of Library Collection             
That the Library undertake an evaluation of its collection.
What we've done:
  • Complete review and updating of the print Reference Collection across all subject areas.
What we're working on:
  •  Research on methods, tools, and funding for collection assessment and evaluation. -- IN PROGRESS

 

                  4) Recommendation: Review Library Documentation & Collection Guidelines             
That the Library undertake to review the existing assortment of documentation with respect to collection decisions made, the results of the collection evaluation, and the knowledge gathered by engaging faculty in discussion with the express purpose of developing something like a "statement of philosophy" for the Library's collection.
What we're working on:
  •  Review and development of library collection philosophy. -- IN PROGRESS

 

                  5) Recommendation: Review Library Space Use & Layout             
That the Library review the floor plans of the building giving consideration to the layout of service points, services, furniture (tables, carrels, and computers - relative to the noise issue), zoning for noise, improving signage, and demarcatiion of designated areas within the library.
What we've done:
  • Creation and ratification of the "Library Code of Conduct Policy" (May 2007).
  • Layout Review initiated (Spring 2007).
  • Library renovations (Summer 2007) including:
  • Move of the L10 Information & Research Assistance desk to in front of the Library's entrance
  • Renovation to General Services Desk
  • Revised layout of library furniture to create spaces zoned for silent study (L1168 -- during evenings and weekends whenever no class is booked), quiet individual computer work and study, group work at tables and group-friendly computer zones
  • Increased the number of group study rooms by two from 13 to 15
  • Installation of lounge furniture in the hallway near the Library's entrance on Level 10 to encourage cell phone use or strictly social gatherings to remain OUTSIDE of the library.
  • Acquisition of acoustic panels for the main stairwells of the Library (to absorb noise).
What we're working on:
  •  Drafting of an enforcement policy (staff policy on enforcing Library Code of Conduct) -- IN PROGRESS

 

                  6) Recommendation: Upgrade Library Technology             
That the University conduct "remedial work" on the Library, taking specific aim at installing electricity on Level 11 East, insulating the group studies and meeting rooms for noise, and expanding the number of computers and the study spaces (quiet, conversational, and group study rooms) to the extent possible.
What we've done:
  • Electricity on Level 11 East (Summer 2006).
  • Summer 2007 Library renovations (reported above) included a revised layout of library furniture to create spaces zoned for silent study (L1168 -- during evenings and weekends whenever no class is booked), quiet individual computer work and study, group work at tables and group-friendly computer zones, and increased the number of group study rooms by two from 13 to 15
  • Redistributed electrical outlets on Levels 9 and 10 to facilitate laptop use at study tables.
  • Increased the number of distributed computer stations from 110 to 144 microcomputers. As well, the Library is "fostering" 32 additional computers from the Anderson Hall computer lab for at least two years (to 2009).
  • Developed and implemented TRAC (TRacking Available Computers) to facilitate identification of available computers in the Library (Spring 2006)
  • Increased the number of circulating laptops to 16 -- increased Windows-based laptops from 4 to 11 (Fall 2006) and added five Mac laptops through co-operative effort with Students Union (Fall 2007)
  • Increased the number of "roll-around" computer/data-projector combinations on carts from 1 to 5.
  • Increased library hours of opening by standardizing the hours across the Fall and Spring semesters (i.e., differential hours for months of September and January were discontinued).
  • Adding data-projector only carts to facilitate projection from laptops.
  • Enhancing both TRAC and printed floor maps to reflect group study locations.
What we're working on:
  •  Insulating group rooms for noise was explored, but held off pending renovations related to the Prentice Institute. -- ON HOLD

 

                  7) Recommendation: Consider Staff Attitudes             
That each Library staff member honestly reflect on their attitudes towards public service considering:
  • The role of the Library,
  • Their role as a staff member within the Library,
  • The user perceptions of staff-mediated services,
  • Why they make the choices they do when dealing with specific individuals,
  • What they can do personally about those things that get in the way of having a positive interaction with users,
  • What they can do personally about working around any issues they have with respect to public service in order to improve their interactions with users,
  • What skills (e.g., technical, communication, empathy, etc.) they feel they need to develop or what they need to learn in order to be more comfortable in a public service role.
What we've done:
  • Staff Retreat (Spring 2007): "Managing Emotions & Thriving Under Pressure..."
  • Individual Efforts (ongoing)
                  8) Recommendation: Increase contact time between librarians and students             
That the Library, the academic librarians in particular, give consideration to reassessing the existing opportunities for student contact with a view to increasing the opportunities for quality contact time with students and considering the role that can be played by faculty.
What we've done:
  • Library renovations (reported above) included moving the L10 Information & Research Assistance desk to in front of the Library's entrance.
  • Introduction of IM (Instant Messaging) reference service (Spring 2007).
  • Partnership with the First Nations Transitions Program in the delivery of Library Science 0500 (2006).
  • Outreach to graduate students through targeted information literacy sessions (ongoing).
  • An outreach pilot (reported above) - two subject liaison librarians have started holding office hours with the departmental units they work with (initiated Fall 2007).
What we're working on:
  •  Development of an informal program of workshops for undergraduates around tools and library services. -- IN PROGRESS
  •  Development of an informal program of workshops for graduate students around tools and library services. -- IN PROGRESS

 

                  9) Recommendation: Increase role of the librarians in work of the faculty             

That the academic librarians, as a group, give consideration to ways that they may play a more prominent role in the work of the faculty.

What we've done:
  • Negotiation of campus site-license access to Endnote, a citation management software tool (Fall 2005).
  • Introduction of EndNote workshops for faculty and graduate students (Spring 2007).
  • Introduction of the "New Titles Alerts" service (i.e., email notification of new titles acquired in a specific areas of interest) (2006).
  • Partnership with the Centre for the Advancement of Excellence in Teaching and Learning (2006).
  • Partnership with Research Services: workshops using the Community of Scholars databases as sources for finding research partners and funding (e.g., Research Grant FUNDamentals Workshop).
  • Development of an Institutional Repository for faculty scholarship (Fall 2007).
  • Development of documentation to facilitate the use of persistent links to electronic resources subscribed to by the Library (Fall 2007).
  • Critical review and upgrade of the Library's "Services for faculty" webpage (ongoing)
What we're working on:
  •  Development of an informal program of workshops for faculty around tools and library services. -- IN PROGRESS

 

                  10) Recommendation: Expand self-serve options             

That the Library remain cognizant of opportunities to expand the options for self-service.

What we've done:
  • Purchase of the "campus integration suite" to facilitate updating of library privileges and payment of fines through the student registration process (Summer 2007).
  • Implementation of a common campus username/password authentication scheme using Active Directory/LDAP (Summer 2007).
  • Implementation of security measures (SSL Certificate) for personal information preparatory to building more self-serve options (Fall 2007).
  • Enhancement of the Library's homepage to include the ability to search the library catalogue directly from this page (Spring 2007).
  • Implementation of spell-checker within the library catalogue to facilitate searching (Spring 2007).
  • Implementation of OpenURL link-resolving software at the article level to facilitate easier access to electronic full-text resources (Summer 2006).
  • Implementation of patron self-booking for audiovisual materials and equipment (Spring 2008).
  • Implementation of the campus integration suite (i.e., Library Banner student registration (Fall 2008) and Fines integration with Banner Finance (Fall 2010).
What we're working on:
  •  Reviewing the submission procedures for theses and dissertations including consideration of developing a process of self-submission. -- IN PROGRESS

 

                  11) Recommendation: Create Schedule for Library Policy/Procedure Review             
That the Library undertake a schedule of review for the various policies and procedural interpretations of policy with a view to:
  • Ensuring they are relevant to the environment of the University and the needs of the University community
  • Ensuring the procedural interpretations of the policies are consistent with the intent of the policy
  • Ensuring there is a consistency of message being conveyed to the users with respect to policy (i.e., enforcement).
What we've done:
  • Annual review of the Library's website for currency and usability (ongoing).
What we're working on:
  •  Drafting of schedule for policy review. -- IN PROGRESS

 

                  12) Recommendation: Perform Regular Assessment of the Library & Library Services             
That the Library develop a regular cycle of performing comprehensive survey of the University community every three years using LibQUAL+(TM).
What we've done:
  • Commitment of funding and staff resources to run LibQUAL+(TM) every three years (minimum).

Subject Guide